top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Your Guide to the New York Bagel.

Updated: Feb 23, 2021

Be prepared.. people will judge you on your bagel order. I get the question a lot from non-New Yorkers, what's the big deal with a New York bagel? While I've been told it's something in the water, I think it's the sheer quantity of options. After NYC.. Panera.. oh she could NEVER.


To toast or not to toast?


A true New Yorker doesn't believe in toasting a bagel. Evidently the quality is too good and you must be able to taste every distinct detail of the bagel and toasting it does not allow for that. If it's not fresh however, it's socially acceptable to toast the shit out of it.


I personally have tried it both ways, I like it toasted. So do with that information what you will.


SCOOP IT

This was my favorite thing about New York bagels, I always order it scooped out. Have you ever had that bagel that had all these great ingredients but all you could taste was the damn bread? Not anymore! Order it scooped which means only one side will be scooped out and the balance will be superior.


Double scooped is just disrespectful, whatever, be skinny but I want to actually enjoy the bagel.


Cream Cheese?


Depending on the mood, the amount of cream cheese options means sometimes you just HAVE to be adventurous and try em out. If you're not ultra hungover, you just want to enjoy a bagel- try a new cream cheese! Jalapeno cheddar changed my life. Also, can't go wrong with a good strawberry cheesecake cream cheese on a cinnamon raisin bagel.


The Lox


On my birthday this year, I woke up bright and early, walked to a fabulous bagel joint and picked up my first ever Lox and Scallion cream cheese bagel to enjoy in Washington Square Park.


I like to save the monumental New York steps for special occasions and this is what most New Yorker will tell you is.. groundbreaking.

While Russ and Daughters is the classic, I've found they're all pretty similar. Enjoyable and different, not my personal favorite but hey, try it, it might be yours!



BEC


A bacon, egg, and cheese- honey, a masterpiece, a classic. If you're hungover, get a god damn STACKED bagel. It soaks it ALL UP, truly, I will drag myself out of bed for this and tuck myself right back into bed to enjoy the deep slumber of someone who has just experienced true satisfaction.

My go-to when I want to treat myself, hungover, living, any time of the day or night when I really deserve it is Avocado, turkey, cheese, and egg on a whole wheat everything bagel, scooped out and toasted. Can't go wrong.


The below is a jalapeno cheddar cream cheese, egg and sausage on a whole wheat everything, toasted. Because again, the options are limitless- why limit yourself?





6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page