top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Enjoy Breathtaking Cityscape Views while Sidewalk Dining at this Italian Restaurant in the Village.

Updated: Mar 8, 2021

Olio e Piú is the quintessential West Village Italian joint. If you've ever walked down 6th Avenue or Greenwich Avenue, you've seen it. You've thought about how gorgeous the greenery wrapping up the sides of the building matched with the lovely outdoor setup, and about how nice it would be to enjoy dinner while looking at THAT VIEW. The city meets at this intersection across the street so you're encompassed in this gorgeous cityscape surrounded by classic lower Manhattan architecture. Breathtaking. The article starts in the Summer and ends in the Winter.


I had my birthday dinner at Olio e Piú. I don't know why- they don't have Espresso Martinis on the menu. What kind of Italian place doesn't have Espresso Martinis? (Although they did make me one.) I don't personally believe in buying pasta, when I can make it better at home. But aside from my biases, I loved the view. While it's expensive, for a very special occasion and for people who love bread on bread- you could try it? You're paying for the view. The Italian may not blow you away. (You should've guessed that though. We have an entire section of this city called Little Italy for a reason.) But a sunny day in the city, for celebrating something big, especially with someone who doesn't often venture into this part of the city- it seems to be a very impressive choice, but only aesthetically.




I'm making an addition as we went for my friends birthday at the end of February as I felt it needed another chance. I was.. hugely disappointed. The service was impeccable, can not highlight that enough- we we're talking to them all night, they were fantastic. The inside is warm-ish. Those are my two highlights.


I hesitate to write anything this rough, just as a general rule of thumb. I don't want any place to lose business but this place truly shook me with the blatant absence of quality present at a place like this. Best case scenario would be they receive this complaint a few times and shape up. It's constructive criticism, intending only tough love.


I ordered a huge fish tray of some sort, my friend ordered it so I can't name it, might've been the special, but it was terrible. There was no flavor whatsoever, I questioned if it was cooked or prepared in any way. Even the bread tasted like it was the leftover loaf from several nights previously.


The Tagliatelle Bolognese was fine. Edible. Just hugely overrated food-wise. I would recommend trekking to a hole in the wall in Little Italy if you're feeling pasta. And I would recommend you run very fast away from this place.




Kommentare


bottom of page