top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Ferns is the Perfect Pre-Bar East Village Dinner Spot.

My pictures do not do this place justice AT ALL. Ferns was such a pleasant surprise, I stumbled upon a last minute Saturday night res and was not disappointed. It was exactly what I was looking for, a lowkey spot to meet up with friends. Affordable prices and the most atmospheric, rustic plant vibes. They had a cute outdoors set up and it was even better inside for when that heat is a little too much.

Servers were phenomenal, can't stress that enough before I say.. Espresso Martini was a hard no. It was 70% water which is not a taste I want even 1% of in my martini.


Food was very good but MADE for a friend dinner. Cheeseburgers are their main courses, which doesn't scream romance to me. BUT- this is a 9 pm res spot, you're about to go to the bars, you probably already ate dinner and you're in it for the apps but all the apps are disguised as meals here!


Buffalo cauliflower was great, they had RANCH so don't worry about the bleu cheese listed on the menu. I got the Kale Quesadilla and added shrimp, great dips on the side which is what I equate to a fab dilla. The foccaccia that came with the Mussels was a little less fresh than I would've liked, but I'm hoping it was a bad batch.


There were some post-bottomless brunch groups present and screaming that was lovely for us because we ended up with free shots! All in all, very lowkey, location is great to start your night off, you're right by a closed off St. Marks Place which makes for a beautiful twinkly lit stroll before hitting the East Village hard.




Comments


bottom of page