top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Into Russian Roulette? Go to Sveta, You Never Know What You'll Get!

Updated: May 26, 2021


So we tried the famous Sveta! We had their cocktails this summer, since we couldn't turn down that cute little pouch that consumed my Tik Tok Feed in the summer of 2020. They are delectable. A lot of sugar and not super strong, but I can't deny it's an enjoyable drink. If you're a penny pincher or a calorie counter, I'd skip the $17 pouch, otherwise indulge ladies.


The aesthetic here is flawless, for a ladies dinner, or a birthday dinner, I can see why you would come for the ambiance and sugar filled drinks. I like that they have a rotating seasonal menu and the place is all in all a vibe. A crowd pleaser for those who appreciate the shallower things in life. Food-wise, I wasn't blown away and would I drag my man here, no, probably not. Gals and gays for apps and drinks? Sure thing! Just because I don't see straight men appreciating the flower arrangements and twinkly lights enough to find the price justifiable.


So great setting, let's discuss substance! We'll start with the rather confusing appetizers! The Russian Sushi looked like a can't miss experience and ended up being the biggest disappointment we'd experienced thus far in our New York cuisine career. It was a cold crepe with cream cheese, essentially. I believe there was supposed to be some salmon but that taste failed to come through and it was really just a damp crepe. The fried veal dumplings were so tiny, you couldn't have put any flavor in them if you wanted to. Chicken Parm Sliders were enjoyable, would probably expect that caliber of food in a bar setting.


In giving it the benefit of the doubt let's go through some Yelp reviews- "The highlight were the Quinoa Black Bean bites, I could have eaten a dozen!" "We got their avocado salad; you must get it. The coconut shrimp was to die for. We also got the skirt steak and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. YOU MUST TRY THIS PLACE!!!!!"" The rigatoni was all really good, but the only thing that was slightly disappointing was the chicken Kiev as it was just ok." "The chicken Kiev was a mockery and the Beef Stroganoff was genuinely inedible. The drinks on the other hand were phenomenal and I would give 5 stars if it was for the drinks alone."


Overall, I've assessed the only thing Russian about this place is the Russian Roulette aspect of never knowing if you'll enjoy what you order! Do I prefer a 10/10 place, of course. Know what you're coming for here, and order expectedly. It's not cheap so you're not coming for deals, you're coming for views. Location is gorgeous but might I suggest Jajaja across the street? Vegan Mexican where whatever you order, will be a 10/10.




6 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page