top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Shelter Brooklyn is your Warehouse Chic stop in Willyb.

I love Williamsburg. I missed Williamsburg. The energy is so fluid and vibrant and so different than Manhattan. Walking through the streets brought me right back to some of my greatest memories, all involving Williamsburg, by the water, on a beautiful sunny day.

Shelter is the manifestation of that Williamsburg energy. A bright and aesthetically pleasing environment, this place was a very specific genre- that which I would refer to as "warehouse chic". This strikes me as a lovely place to bring my parents for a pleasant morning and then stroll through the streets, ultimately ending up on the water to show them the magnificence of Domino Park.


I was told to try the empanadas so we did- loved the mushroom, kale, goat cheese, those are the holy trinity for me. The travesty here lies in the fact that I went to a place called "Shelter Pizza," and did not in fact, try the pizza. I was strictly here for brunch which may have been a mistake.


Delving into the menu it's a little confusing to name the place "Shelter Pizza," when they have this special proclivity towards seafood? The menu features items ranging from Octopus Hot Dogs, Paella, a Raw Bar, fish tacos to things like burgers, pork ribs, chorizo, pizza, and brunch? I can't pinpoint the angle here but it's Brooklyn, why worry about labeling it anything other than enjoyable.


The brunch menu wasn't particularly extensive but it proved itself delicious. Their brunch sandwich on ciabatta and steak and eggs were both winners. Average portion size and your classic brunch drinks, a perfectly acceptable place to bring anyone to enjoy a delightful drink.


Their websites currently down so I can't do my extensive research on their HH offerings, but I think it'd be a great stop for a dinner or even light bites and cocktails.








3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page