top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Sugarfish- Sushi so Fresh it's Basically Alive - WV & Flatiron.


You've probably seen this place's take out boxes on some girls Instagram because people are perpetually try to flex with this place. If someone in LA posts it that's something to keep in mind. It's fair to be skeptical of a strictly appearance based society validating food, because New Yorkers actually value substance. I will die on that hill- In-N-Out is a prime example. Pathetic excuse for a burger, West Coasters should be ashamed.



I wish I took more pictures- because their whole Omakase thing is all about the different courses of this set menu they bring out to you piece by piece. Every course is spectacular, I love sushi and I definitely appreciate this melt-in-your-mouth kind of sushi. Literally though, they were like "eat this right this second" or it'll fall apart. I don't understand how it was possibly that fragile but they didn't have to tell me twice.


Couldn't ask for something more satisfying flavor-wise and the price tag makes sense, because it is obviously not cheap to create sushi of this caliber. If I'm balling out on a dinner, really wanting a 5 star experience I would absolutely go here again. Never, NEVER for take-out. You pay for the experience on a very special occasion, otherwise, objectively it's like 10 pieces of sushi for $100.. New Yorkers will spend that much and get a 10 course meal with a plethora of apps and rolls.


This is the best quality sushi I've ever had but you will not leave even remotely full. Black Tap is just around the corner of the WV location- go grab a fat milkshake dessert to compensate.



Comments


bottom of page