top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Thai Diner in Nolita - No Reservations Need, No Frills Thai.


Lots of hype surrounded this place so I was extremely excited to head there. We went peak dinner time on a Thursday and there was quite a crowd surrounding the podium. They don't take reservations for 2 people so we tried our hand and put our name in. The 25 minute wait time flew by as we downed frozen margs at Sweet and Vicious and then headed to the aesthetically retro themed Thai Diner!


We got great outdoor seats spots, though every seating option you end up with would be more than pleasant. As is the case with a lot of places, understaffing caused a decent delay in our food but I won't let that affect my overall thoughts on the food.























Our appetizer selection was superior. Their roti and curry dip was delicious and the "Mieng Kum Betel Wraps" were nothing like what I was expecting but FANTATIC. You just stuff your wraps yourself, I used the roti dip as well and the two made the most perfect combination, I would absolutely come back for these two pieces alone.


Do not order the Pad-See-Ew, I'm unsure what was going on with their sauce but.. pass. Pad Thai was okay, I think we should've gone with "House Specialties" and skipped the Wok's, they seemed to struggle in that department.


Drinks were overly sugary but a cool glass of wine paired nicely with our appetizers. Overall, it's a great location to stop in a grab some dinner before you head out in the LES, but people seem to be flocking here for the cover more so than the book. For more quality Asian cuisine, I'd venture a little more South.







.


While you wait... hit up Mothers Ruin for singles and Sweet n Vicious for a party.

Comments


bottom of page