top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

The Grayson - East Village Dance Party for Under 24 yr olds.

BARS ARE BACK BABY! Nightlife was a really big learning curve for me when I moved to the city. With SO many options, it's impossible to know which ones to go to without a seasoned New Yorker holding your hand. Pre-pandemic I was a LES/East Village pro but I can't vouch for post-pandemic bar scenes, so we're starting from scratch.


First up, is the GRAYSON. If the Grayson is any indicator of the NYC bar scene's stability, I have high hopes. This place was the exact same scene I left in 2019- meaning 24 year old me would love it. 26 year old me has aged out.


THE PEOPLE

21-24 year old clumsy extremely hetero type guys and girls way out of their leagues. Can't even say full finance bro, more like Yelp Account Managers still trying to get on their feet career-wise.


THE MUSIC AND DANCING

BAR NONE. Such great dance music and not your typical - Mr. Brightside crowd pleasers, but great throwbacks and crowd pleasers I hadn't heard in a while with some new bops. Danced all night with my girlfriends. The men were like wild animals but I kept the circle between me and my pals pretty easily.


THE DRINKS

$8 mixed drinks is pretty standard, maybe even a little cheaper than norm! Very strong and bar tenders were very kind. I'm old now, I got mostly water at the bar (that I didn't spike with my own booze) and they were super quick with it.




Comments


bottom of page