top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

A Citi Bike Date Alongside the River- Take in all the Nautical Seaside Scenery at Sunset.

Updated: Feb 20, 2021

Citi bike was a 2020 discovery for me as I was desperately trying to avoid the subway. I think we all have the same story in our head about biking on the rambunctious and catastrophic streets of New York City - that it's mad dangerous and we're too young to die. Though I truly can not believe I managed to get around before I braved the bike.


The usefulness vs riskiness of a Citibie is hugely dependent on where you are though- for example, trying to bike through Midtown is not it. I'm surprised I've survived doing that as often as I have- but in contrast, the LES and Battery Park have so many beautiful bike lanes that are made for low risk mobility. It's really not as scary as it seems if you stay in Lower Manhattan, there's so many convenient bike lanes, and it's NYC- cars can barely break free of traffic long enough to get over 5 mph.


The PERFECT date is biking to Battery Park. Battery Park has easily accessible bike paths with wide ranging views of the entire sunset as it lights up the piers. Make a pit stop at Pier A (A popping restaurant/bar on the water with a direct view of the Statue of Liberty,) then up the Hudson, end at City Vineyard, (an open air wine bar stop on the river, exceedingly busy during happy hour.) If you're going for the tour de force, get all the way to my favorite Chelsea spot, the floating ship bar- The Frying Pan.


Price-Wise - It's $3 for a 30 minute ride then .15 cents per minute or $15 for a whole day.


I bought the year unlimited membership, though a lot of employers would cover this as a fitness or commuting expense. If you have a Blink membership you get a discount, so explore your options before pulling trig.








Comments


bottom of page