top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

I F*cking Love BAO BUNS & BaoBurg in WillyB Does Not Disappoint.

Updated: Mar 5, 2021

Bao Buns were a 2020 discovery that changed my life. I live in Chinatown so my roommate took me to pick up some bao at the corner bakery and ever since then I NEED it to be on the menu at any restaurant I go to. (Look for it- the places you find it nowadays are crazy, doesn't even have to be Asian! I've had a buffalo chicken bao bun that changed my damn life.)


I would equate bao buns to an Asian taco, but instead of the crunchy tortilla, it's a steamed dumpling in the shape of a taco shell. The interior is never as singular as tacos however, and you'll find any type of content or cuisine stuffed inside one of these bad boys- from Fried Chicken, to Gyro meat, to West Indie Curry Goat. The steamed bao is fluffy and delectable and I've yet to find a stuffing that didn't match perfectly with the pillowy perfection of its bun. Pork Belly Buns are the most traditional you'll find on a majority of Asian menus, but I'm always in search of more ways that this versatile delicacy can surprise and satisfy me.


We had every option at BaoBurg. I loved the Shrimp Bao, loved the Tempura. We got the Pad Thai too which was a little underwhelming. Lava Buns are a MUST. They're a salty yolk dessert bun that'll blow your mind.


Now I would've enjoyed this food if it was in a drafty garage but what sets this place apart was how creative the inside is. It's got an underwater, Asian fusion type theme floating around. We were sitting inside a giant tent that makes you feel like you're in a fish bowl.. in an enjoyable way. There were a ton of scattered spots on the patio that give everyone their own privacy to indulge in this neon drenched Asian hot spot.


Thank God I don't live within delivery distance from this place (shoutout Bao Works.) An absolute must-try in Willy B. They do serve beer if you want to make it a date, but this was purely about the food experience for me.




Comments


bottom of page