top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

Magnolia Bakery - They've Convinced You It's the Only Bakery in NYC.

Updated: Feb 28, 2021

I was over the moon to try Magnolia Bakery's gingersnap pumpkin pudding and it gave me the exact same feeling that Carrie Bradshaw had when Big didn't show up at the altar. I knew it was a likely possibility, but I was supremely disappointed nonetheless.


I think this is the only bakery I really see featured in New York media representations and that's doing it a huge injustice. Also, the recipe for the "famous" banana pudding is all over Tik Tok. Once you discover that, this place really loses its luster.


This bakery is in too many places, first red flag. You don't want a chain bakery when you're in New York City. They're well-known and that gives it that tourist-trap appeal, but you wouldn't find a local stopping in for a regular treat. A good rule of thumb when it comes to a bakery is to ensure it's well-liked more so than well-known.


I stocked up for Thanksgiving in the city with an assortment of pumpkin flavored items, and all of it fell far from spectacular or even good. Have you ever had really good bread pudding? Even mediocre bread pudding? Okay this is NOT THAT. I think a misconception is that it's bread pudding.. this is plain pudding with Nilla Wafers. Think "Snack Pack."


If you're visiting NYC and love Sex and the City, go check out the West Village one. I understand it's something we all have to do. It's in a gorgeous area of the West Village and grabbing a cupcake and walking hand in hand with someone you love is nonetheless special because it's a chain bakery. A good cupcake is a good cupcake. But to really enjoy your treats- go to Posh Pop.


3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page