top of page
  • Writer's pictureSyd Jo

The Best Pizza in New York City - Mama's Too in the UWS.

If I've said it once, I've said it to anyone who will listen. New York City pizza is not good. Not traditionally. It's distinct, people like that it's distinct, no matter where you are in the USA, "New York Style," means something, and I get that but... it means it's thin pizza. I hate to break it to you, that's the distinguishing characteristic and while some places might get the toppings right, OBJECTIVELY that's not the best kind of pizza!! I want a THICK pizza, an even balance of cheese and toppings on a bed of soft dough. I think if you took the New York out of it, you would also realize that there isn't a need for you to have two inches of cheese on one inch of bread just so you can fold your pizza in half. Have you ever wondered WHY you're folding it in half? Because it's too thin and you also secretly agree you need more pizza in your mouth aka thicker pizza. Dun dun dun!


So I'm perpetually on a hunt for thick pizza, which some would consider "Detroit Style." I've done the traditional Emmy Squared and Prince Street, of course. Emmy Squared has a one up because you can sit down and get your pizza hot, right to your table, fresh out of the oven. Mama's Too's biggest downside is unless you live above them, you're never going to get that fresh fresh, good good. We all know delivery pizza is never 100%. I think best case scenario here is ordering a fresh pie, picking it up and walking it to a Central Park picnic to truly DIVE IN.


Let's Get After It, Slice by Slice BABY :


The Cacio E Pepe blew my mind. As you can see --->

This one right off the bat was so fluffy, so flavorful. Mama's is a focaccia bread dough and this was originally what drew me to it, as opposed to thin New York Crust or even thick Detroit Style they have an EDGE. If Cacio e Pepe is your go-to pasta dish, or even if you want a fresh take on cheese pizza- this is by far the greatest cheese slice in existence.



The Angry Nonna (upper right) was next, which I was most excited about since it's their spicy pizza (i love spicy pizza shoutout Buffalo Chicken, my first love)- this one almost felt like it was created to show Prince Street just how bad Prince Street is. If you don't know Prince Street, it's an extremely overrated spot in Nolita that's pretty viral. Enough to draw a huge line for a mediocre slice. Anyway, they boast a "Spicy Pepperoni," which is their house specialty and this pizza at Mama's just BLEW IT RIGHT OUT OF THE WATER. I mean, by comparison.. there is no comparison. Mama's Too is so flavorful, the spicy honey softens it out while Prince Street's is so dry, like they can't figure out the proper balance of spicy and burnt. This one needed to be a bit thicker of focaccia but it was still tangy and so flavor packed. Also slightly reminiscent of Roberta's Bee Sting pizza but with a more noticeable taste of honey.


The Upside Down was just a thick, plain Margherita. Not my favorite, nothing special. (Upper Left) This would've been what I drenched in ranch, had they offered ranch. (I'm surprisingly not knocking them for not carrying ranch. This is a special case, they really put the effort into their breads and seasonings to where I don't feel bad indulging in the flavor profile they provide.)



The Funghai NEEDS to be renamed. I know Funghai/Mushrooms, I get the point but it's just not a word I want associated with my food. The pizza though, I smashed. It was so subtle and sweet with the caramelized onions and mushrooms together, it was a vegetarians heaven. If this had goat cheese or cream cheese I think it's safe to say I would've simply passed away.


Last is the 18th avenue which is their take on sausage pizza and it really did make all other sausage pizza obsolete. The pepper combo was so complimentary to the meat- a thick and juicy pizza to satiate even the biggest appetites.


Overall, this is tied evenly with Emmy Squared in my book for greatest pizza in New York (yet). It sticks to the themed flavors of New York Pizza but adds a fresh take and the greatest dough I've had. I wish they had a closer location but as it stands, I would 10/10 recommend.




Commentaires


bottom of page